Present Tense : Wāhine Toi Aotearoa

To record the current landscape of women in design and give visibility to the unsung diversity of Aotearoa design, Designers Speak (Up) made an open call early 2019 to all designers, artists and educators from the Directory of Women Designers to design a poster using the medium to explore and address any issue social, cultural, or political issue of their choice.

Present Tense : Wāhine Toi Aotearoa presents the ongoing accumulation of posters in various forms — from printed to projected to published online — over the course of a project and exhibition hīkoi launched April 30, 2019, in Kirikiriroa at RAMP Gallery. 

The project is an opportunity to give visibility and voice to women-identifying and non-binary designers to speak up using the poster medium. It is a space for myriad voices to be heard, supported and championed in the wholehearted, collective way that is the Designers Speak (Up) kaupapa. Scroll down for more details on the project and how to take part.

— — — — — — — — — 

Click on the posters to enlarge and read the accompanying texts >>

The #ff3333 Poster Call remains open for contributions as the project grows and accumulates. Next deadline is Sunday July 21 — make a poster and have it shown at Laurel Projects, Ōtepoti/Dunedin, 2 – 23 August!

Broken record  by Lana Lopesi is the first of several essays to accompany Present Tense : Wāhine Toi Aotearoa.  

All posters and texts are collected into the Designers Speak (Up) online poster archive. Documentation of the project includes written contributions to offer contextual discussion during the project hīkoi around Aotearoa New Zealand.  

— — — — — — — — — 

Hīkoi 2019

RAMP Gallery : Kirikiriroa/Hamilton : 30 April – 24 May 
Laurel Projects : Ōtepoti/Dunedin : 2 – 23 August
Te Pu O Te Wheke Gallery : Kaikohe : Winter, date tbc
Ilam Campus Gallery : Ōtautahi/Christchurch : 3 October – 3 November
Enjoy Contemporary Artspace : Pōneke/Wellington : 23 October – 23 November

>> other spaces and locations to be announced — watch this space

— — — — — — — — — 

Make a poster

Be part of a window in time and make a poster. Not on the Directory? All welcome, students included — join up! Download the Poster Call guidelines and templatePlease read the guidelines carefully. Send your files to Designers Speak (Up) with Present Tense : poster submission in the subject line.

— — — — — — — — —